Spring Gala Concert – Royal Northern Sinfonia

Ripon Cathedral – Friday 17th May 2019 at 7.30 pm

Royal Northern Sinfonia by Mark Savage

Janusz Piotrowicz, conductor

Anna Douglass, horn


Weber Overture Der Freischutz

Richard Strauss  Horn Concerto No 1 in E major Op 11

Beethoven Overture Leonore No 3

Brahms Symphony No 1 in C minor


We present a dazzling programme of striking contrasts: Weber’s haunting melodies and blazing fanfares, the playfulness of Strauss, Beethoven’s compelling drama, and Brahms’ richly orchestrated masterpiece of soaring melodies and passion. With the mesmerising conductor, Janusz Piotrowicz, at the helm audiences can expect ‘sheer exhilaration … a spine-tingling experience’ Music Web International   ‘sublime … a profound performance, full of integrity’ The Guardian


We are proud to introduce Anna Douglass – Winner, BBC Young Musician and the Dennis Brain Horn Prize – playing the virtuosic Strauss concerto.


TICKETS: Nave: £32, £26, £22 Aisles £18 Unreserved £12 (Student £10 in aisles, £5 in unreserved)

Wheelchair patrons £15; carer free    Online booking opens 4th March  BOOK TICKETS


Join our mailing list


First Name:

Last Name:


Follow us