Orchestra of Opera North – Great Russian Classics

Saturday 2nd September 2017 at 7.30 pm        Royal Hall, Harrogate

Janusz Piotrowicz  conductor


Tchaikovsky      Fantasy Overture Romeo & Juliet        tumblr_m9o1e0Xj3y1roi9ggo1_1280

Borodin              Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor

Shostakovich    Symphony No 5 in D minor


Borodin’s exotic oriental showpiece follows Tchaikovsky’s vivid portrayal of young love and tragedy. Shostakovich’s gripping masterpiece was composed during the Stalin era: the heroic opening, a raging emotional tempest, the 3rd movement – the heart and soul of the piece – filled with beautiful melodies in the strings with woodwind, harp and celeste; the thrilling Finale an expression of defiance. The premiere in 1937 was a huge success, the audience  giving a 40-minute ovation.  Expect a scorching performance!


rarely will you hear the anger and bitterness of Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony unleashed with such unremitting force and acerbity. It took the Orchestra to the edge of their combined virtuosity .. the Allegro was taken just about as fast as any orchestra could tackle, but it worked in adding that final tingle factor’   (Orchestra of Opera North/Piotrowicz) *****Yorkshire Post




Join our mailing list


First Name:

Last Name:


Follow us