Music at Markenfield – The Villiers String Quartet

Thursday 6th September   2.30 pm and  7.30 pm     SOLD OUT     Markenfield Hall, nr Ripon

          James Dickenson – violin  Tamaki Higashi – violin  Carmen Flores – viola  Nick Stringfellow – cello


ANTHONY PAYNE    String Quartet No 3 – World Premiere

MENDELSSOHN  Quartet No 6 in F minor, Op 80    DVORAK      Quartet No 14 in A flat major, Op 105


Villiers String Quartet

Villiers String Quartet

The charismatic quartet present two much-loved masterpieces. Mendelssohn’s Op 80, with its dramatic

opening movement and searing Adagio, was a tribute to his beloved sister Fanny after her death.

The Op 105 is Dvorak at his most imaginative, full of rich textures – a work of supreme mastery.

The Quartet is also proud to present the world premiere of a work written for them by Anthony Payne

‘No praise can be too high for these sublimely articulate and

concentrated readings by the Villiers Quartet’  Gramophone 2017


Concerts take place in the Great Hall of the 14th Century manor which is a delight to explore.

‘incredibly romantic – a place so stunning it should be wildly famous’  Yorkshire Post

£24   SOLD OUT

Join our mailing list


First Name:

Last Name:


Follow us